Name: Laura (Anonymous) · Date: 08/29/2007 - 07:53 pm · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
Did someone contact Penguin? Why dont give her the benefit of doubt?
I never read "sex or love", but I `d love to hear her side of the story.

Author's Response: Of course I contacted her right after I checked both stories to let her know the siuation...to get her side of the story *as yo say*, and I have yet to get a reply back. As far as I'm concerned there's is nothing that she can say to explain away what she did. I know for a fact she 'didn't' get permission from the original author nor give them credit, had she done those things we wouldn't be here.


Name: dianna (Anonymous) · Date: 08/27/2007 - 09:01 pm · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
ok ...i have to say that the story in question "paying for love" was definately plagorized.....however, people are talking about her other fic called "buissness proposal" and i have to diagree that it was copied or continued from jamesgirl's story... the setting was similar but the dialougeue and whole entire beginning was completely different....in her story she is hired by giles to work for spike and is frumpy girl but then gets a makeover to go back to how she was before her mom died and it involves dawn....in naughty but nice...the other fic (which she apperantly copied) dawns not in it and she already works for spike in the beginning of the fic.....thats just my opinion though ....i just don't think she's guilty of it twice!!




Author's Response: I said it before and I'll say it again, I don't know anything about any other story of hers being plagiarized, no one contacted me about any other fic. And so it shouldn't be stated here that it was plagiarized, so lets plz stay on topic. All of penguins stories were removed from here because she was caught plagiarizing with 'Paying for Love' and her account, and all stories attached were deleted. Oh and to the statement 'I just don't think she's guilty of it twice'...once is more than enough, and she will be infamous for it from now on.


Name: akarinacj (Anonymous) · Date: 08/27/2007 - 12:10 pm · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
It´s a sad thing she would do that, because I was liking the story. Anyway. I read the Gilmore story and I recommend it very much. Usually I only read Spuffy stories but this was great. (I watched Gilmore Girls and always liked Jess, so maybe that´s the reason. Anyhow. Check the author she´s great writing the story.


Name: Jaime Bee (Anonymous) · Date: 08/26/2007 - 07:09 pm · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
I'm in shock! I loved her first story at first and now I find out it was copied partially from a fic here. Wish I hadn't wasted my time reading any of that one.

Author's Response: No, it was copied from a Gilmore fic posted on FF.net. I never got any ting from anyone here stated this was a copy of their story, therefore I must assume it never happened.


Name: spikes mrs (Signed) · Date: 08/26/2007 - 07:18 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
Why do people do this to me it seems like a waste of bloody time....I wouldn't have the patience to go through chapter after chapter and change all the players names.... I'm just glad I never wasted my time by begining to read any of her stuff ....And I read alot of stuff here as anyone who know me knows ...My advice to the plagist if you can't bloody think your own idea's up then don't bother nicking anyone elses you'll always get found out..... I'm wondering if this is the same person who was using the user name Eternally Spuffy the other month and if it is it there someway to log the ip number to stop these idiots doing the same thing time and time again, wasting site space and your time Pari?

Author's Response: Having an IP would do no good, whether its dynamic IP *Which changes whenever you log on* or Static *Which is always the same*. I say this because there are many places one can go now to log onto the internet, coffee shops, libraries, etc...I can delete them but they can always join up again and login, since this is an open site. Our best defense against this is each other, a plagiarist are always discovered, sooner or later.


Name: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: 08/26/2007 - 05:21 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
Penguin's Story Business Proposal appears to be a copy of an unfinished fic right on this site called Nice to Naughty by James Girl. When I first started reading Penguins fic Business Proposal I thought it was an update from something I had read months ago. I was partially correct. I am not an author or a member, just someone who frequently reads Spuffy fics.


Name: Kristen (Anonymous) · Date: 08/26/2007 - 04:20 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
I bet her other fic Business Proposal wasn't her fic now too. I can't prove it but she said the other was her first fic. Most likely she copied another story and that time nobody noticed.

Author's Response: We're not going to discuss her other fics. I never gt complaints about any oher her other fics, so one has to assume they are her originl works. We are discussing 'Payin For Love' and that is all. Remember 'Assume' makes an 'ASS' out of 'U' and 'ME', so let's not assume. Thanks


Name: smlcspike (Signed) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 09:28 pm · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
I liked that fic, but I guess I will just have to do with out or read the other fic on ff.net.

I to notice a lot of simular things to IBE but also different and since we all could come up with ideas and make them turn out in different ways, I didn't complain just read the fic.

Thank said now we need IBE to update hers, in question.


Name: Ariadne (Signed) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 04:41 pm · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
Really disappointed now, I liked this story...


Name: GIvy (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 04:23 pm · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
This is so very sad and franky, disappointing! You had mentioned that in her profile that she had admitted to previously going by another name. Does anyone know or remember what it was? Ya know, be on the look out for that name as well - or possible adaptations of it.


Name: Jen (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 11:40 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
You know, I don't even mind if a plot isn't original by the author. A Spuffy adaptation works for me. HOWEVER the writer needs to get permission from the original author and clearly state the circumstance and give credit in the author's notes.

Author's Response: Abolutely Jen, and that's all I ask ppl to do before trying to post them here. And in this case it didn't happen because it was the author of the 'original' story who contacted me about this mess *I'm still embarrassed about that*


Name: Pet (Signed) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 07:40 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
This was a huge disappointment. I really liked Penguin's stories, and now it turns out that the story wasn't even her own. I don't understand why anyone would want to take credit for someone elses work, I just don't see the point. It's like an insult to all of us authors who actually put in a lot of work to write and share our stories.


Name: mag-rose (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 07:27 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
Like everyone else I feel cheated Pari. I never read Fanfiction.Net. and I have no knowledge of the Gilmore Girls - if that is what it is. Thank you and your members for your vigilance. Thing I love most about Spuffy Realm are the original plots the members bring us. Long may you continue!


Name: messy (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 07:20 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
I think I read an author's note at the beginning of the 2nd chapter, that said that someone made her notice that it resembled Tailored Encounters; but that from then on it would be different. I had the same opinion after reading the first chapter; but then on to the 3rd I still couldn't decide. I check FFN but only the Btvs section, so I wouldn't have ever found out about this plagiarism. Shame. You think authors writes because they have something to tell of their own and not because they think they can get away with copying someone else's work just by changing the names.


Name: jessie88 (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 07:07 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
it's nice to know that you really check it out to make sure that it's too close to be a coincidence. I know there have been times that I've started to write a story and realize later that it's extremely similar to another one. Of course, when you read thousands of books/fanfictions, it's hard to keep everything straight.

Too bad she didn't give credit where credit was due otr check with the original author before switching characters.

Author's Response: Oh yes, I definitely check them out whenever some one thinks plagiarism is going on and there have been occassions where I said yes it's the same plot/idea *which is bound to happen sometimes* but it's not the same story being told, so I don't think it's plagiarism. But in this case, the characters in the original *From the Gilmore Girls* And the characters in Penguin's fic were basically doing the same things at the same time, the sequnces of events were too much of a coincidence. And there wouldn't have even been an issue had they asked the original author's permission and then gave them credit. In fact there are some authors/fics here that have done exactly that.


Name: TammyAsh666 (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 04:33 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
It was a Gilmore Girls fiction that was plagiarized, not Im_bloody_English, but I'm sure a lot of people have had similar ideas like this for fictions. I wasn't reading Penguin's stories, but this is yet another disappointment. I read in her profile that she went by another name in here, then had that account deleted for some reason and came up with Penguin. That always makes me a bit suspicious.

Author's Response: Yes I have no doubt ppl have the same ideals for stories, but to have the same idea to the point you write the sequences of events, character interaction, etc...EXACT the same, the only real difference being the names f the characters. Well that's just too far fetched for me. And I read that very same thing in her account as well, and you're right now that I think on it, that is very suspicious. It's all very unfortunate :(


Name: a (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 04:32 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
as far as i'm concerned, imbloodyenglish has ruined us for any other fic with the plot line of spike being a male prostute. this 'penguin'... one stupid bint who didn't do her homework. Dumb bitch!


Name: can't believe it (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 04:11 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
i'm huge fan of Im_bloody_English and all her work and I'd been watching this with side line interest, just waiting... glad this wanna be is being squashed.


Name: pepperatstate (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 02:45 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
Darn, this is unfortunate. I really liked this story.


Name: spikeslilchit (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 01:58 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
Hey WOW....totally agree with you there!!! I thought it was going to be like IBE's "Tailored Encounters" also.(big fan of IBE's writing)


Name: WOW (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 01:20 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
holy shit!!! and here i thought she was trying to re-do I'm bloody english's story, Tailored Encounters.


Name: guest (Anonymous) · Date: 08/25/2007 - 01:12 am · For: Its truly a damned Shame!!
Wow!!!!! Why do people do things like that. i would love to have a story up here and get people to read. But I know I'm not a talented writer.
Do you know if her other story was plagiarized?Just wondering.

Author's Response: I honestly don't know, no one contacted me about it so I can't say it was. I just know this particular story is a basic copy of Sex or Love, and since Sex or Love was posted out there first I have to treat Paying for Love as the imposter fic. It's just too similar to me


Submit a Review