Reviews For A Gift Unsought


Name: cordykitten (Signed) · Date: 11/18/2012 - 11:27 pm · For: Giles
I thought first that Giles was ill. But now I think it's the work and the pressure of what they've done with all this new slayers (awakening them). Not sure how Buffy would feel when Giles would be ill.

Author's Response: No, they've all been under a lot of stress, nothing more.


Name: cordykitten (Signed) · Date: 09/30/2012 - 12:24 am · For: Conference
Heh! As you would know if you did not permit your personal feelings to interfere with your ability to listen. Tell it like it is. :)

Good to see the others stood up to Angel, told him some truth he didn't want to hear. He should have something to think about.

Author's Response: I agree. Glad you liked.


Name: cordykitten (Signed) · Date: 08/05/2012 - 04:37 pm · For: Threads
All caught up now!
Spike seems to be breathing...

Author's Response: He's going through the motions, anyway...


Name: cordykitten (Signed) · Date: 08/05/2012 - 04:31 pm · For: Unexpected
*phew* Glad Spike was there in time.
Interesting findings about Spike (what the doc said).

Author's Response: I like my stuff to sounds reasonable - mostly - so I end up thinking about this stuff a lot. And, y'know, looking things up about brain activity and such. Glad you enjoyed!


Name: cordykitten (Signed) · Date: 08/05/2012 - 04:20 pm · For: Plans
Uh-huh... Danger for Buffy, dreamo r no dream

Author's Response: Buffy is definitely going through a lot right now.


Name: cordykitten (Signed) · Date: 08/05/2012 - 04:14 pm · For: Worry
Mmmh to what Willow said - did the connection with what was left of Spike take parts of Buffy's soul?

Author's Response: Mmmmaybe.


Name: cordykitten (Signed) · Date: 08/05/2012 - 04:06 pm · For: Broken
I'm late myself. :)
Angel really has a bad timing.
Sad to see Buffy so devastated.

Author's Response: You're not late. I'm glad you enjoyed, and I hope you're still here now that Ch 10 is finally up.


Name: Veronica (Anonymous) · Date: 07/21/2012 - 05:33 am · For: Unexpected
Oh thank goodness Spike showed up (wherever they are) to stop her. I think that killing herself there would lead to a death in the real world, correct? Even if it didn't, a dream in which you kill yourself is never good. I love the way you write. =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I want to answer your questions but I don't want to give anything away yet, either. Hope you enjoy the ride anyway!


Name: Caunwen (Signed) · Date: 07/13/2012 - 11:34 am · For: Plans
Cliffhanger!
I love your writing style and the way you get the thoughts in there perfectly. Keep going! It doesn't matter how slowly you go, as long as you never stop.

Author's Response: You're very kind, thank you.


Name: Laura Liz (Anonymous) · Date: 07/11/2012 - 05:51 pm · For: Worry
Really like the story so far! :)

Author's Response: Glad to hear it!


Name: Caunwen (Signed) · Date: 07/11/2012 - 04:34 pm · For: Worry
I love how you got the Willow rambling perfect!

Author's Response: Heh. I try. Glad you liked.


Name: caunwen (Anonymous) · Date: 06/30/2012 - 01:03 am · For: Broken
absolutely beautiful.

Author's Response: You're very kind. Thank you.


Name: viviann ella (Anonymous) · Date: 06/29/2012 - 06:41 pm · For: Broken
So glad to see this back in the recently updated category. It is a great read. Your characterizations are spot on and you are able to beautifully express the sense of loss that Buffy feels. It evokes such a bittersweet feeling. I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: It took awhile to get back into the swing of things, writing-wise. I'm glad to be back at it as well.

Honestly, part of the delay was that I tend to feel what my characters feel - otherwise I have a tough time writing their feelings in a believable way - and I didn't want to put myself in Buffy's shoes, so I kept putting off writing!

Glad you think it was worth the wait.



Name: cordykitten (Signed) · Date: 04/07/2012 - 08:11 pm · For: Corporeal
Just found your story; interesting twist so far.
Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you. I just uploaded the most recent chapter. Hope you enjoy it despite the delay.


Name: Ambrosia (Anonymous) · Date: 03/23/2012 - 03:35 am · For: Corporeal
My goodness. This story went from having me in tears to being scared for Freds' life! I'm extremely excited with where this might be going, seeing as I haven't read one on this trail yet. :3 Please oh please keep writing, and I'll most certainly keep reading! :D

Author's Response: Is that... is that a wibble? I made you wibble?

Sorry to have kept you waiting for so long - hope this next chapter is worth it for you.



Name: Photographynut (Signed) · Date: 03/22/2012 - 11:01 pm · For: Corporeal
Just found your fic and really love it!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Acajou Amarth (Signed) · Date: 03/22/2012 - 10:00 pm · For: Corporeal
This is going to have to be a short review, because I need sleep, like, NOW.

I haven't really seen anything from 'Angel', so I'm not sure, but from what I could tell, Angel (the big git, I just don't like him), Wes and Fred are really in character. :) While it's not the same for me as reading about the Scoobies, it's certainly entertaining - and that's a compliment. :)

Oooh! What's going on with Spike? I love the fact that he just smashed the amulett - that's just so like him, all impulsive and impatient. :P But now I want to know what is happening to him and I also want him to not kill Fred. She always seems so nice in fanfiction and I heard she and Spike became really good friends on the show.

But you won't let him kill her. I know that. Now all I'm waiting for is an answer and for Buffy to find out Spike is back.

I love your Buffy-centric chapters so much, so please give me more? Soon?

Thank you for updating! :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked. The (three-month!) delay in writing this most recent chapter was almost entirely because of Buffy and her angst. Difficult to write those emotions, for me, without feeling them on some level, and I didn't want to go there for awhile. Hopefully you like what I came up with.


Name: emokitten (Signed) · Date: 03/21/2012 - 04:33 am · For: Corporeal
awesome, keep up the GREAT story, can't wait for more chapters!!!!

Author's Response: Sorry I took three months to write it, but here you go!


Name: emokitten (Signed) · Date: 03/11/2012 - 02:35 am · For: Ghost
i will be waiting to see the next chapters i hope its soon.

Author's Response: Keep your shorts on, I'll update when I can. :)


Name: emokitten (Signed) · Date: 03/11/2012 - 02:20 am · For: Presence
the way Buffy cried over Spike broke my heart, and i sobbed big time when she couldnt feel him anymore and she fell apart.

Author's Response: Glad to hear the story is affecting you.


Name: emokitten (Signed) · Date: 03/11/2012 - 02:09 am · For: Loss
man, this chapter made me cry, i feel so bad for Buffy. She lost Spike and she's numb bcuz of it. GREAT job, i love this story already i hope you finish the story soon.

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying. This one is very difficult for me to write for some reason. The words aren't cooperating, so updates will be slow.


Name: Acajou Amarth (Signed) · Date: 03/04/2012 - 09:08 pm · For: Loss
Always interesting to see post-'Chosen' stories. Everyone does them differently.

I like yours a lot so far; Buffy's introspection, the way she just seems to shut down. I love the little scene with Wood and especially the heartbreaking goodbye from Giles. He said exactly what I always felt he should and it hurts my soul to see them reduced to a handshake.

I don't agree that Buffy loved Spike at the ending. I think she tried, she wanted to, she found him worthy of her love, but she couldn't give it and that's why Spike didn't believe her, because he can always see through her. But hey, it's not like I don't wish she had meant it... So I'll just accept that as author's freedom and enjoy the story from that point on.

I absolutely loved your line of thought about Spike being somewhat exalted in his last moments and had therefore reached a state of consciousness where Buffy's meager admission of love couldn't stop him from closing the Hellmouth.

Personally, I don't get why you didn't publish this in two chapters so far, seeing as it was clearly divided in two seperate from each other. Then again, I get if you just can't wait to publish it as far as you have written it. I have my problems with that kind of patience, too. :P

I don't know if I will give a review for every chapter, seeing as I prefer to review when I have something to say, but I will definitely keep reading and am looking forward to finding out where you're taking this story.

Thank you for sharing it with us! :)

Author's Response: Hi Acajou,

My take on it: This is a Spuffy story. Therefore, she loves him. I think it took her a long time to LET herself love him and that he couldn't believe the admission once she finally got past her hangups and actually said it.

Second, there are only 3000 words in this first chapter and if I'd split it up then at least one of them would have been too short to satisfy, and possibly too short for the submission rules on some of the sites I post to. Plus I plan for this story to be shorter than Distress Signals and am trying to pare down in such a way that each chapter moves the story forward.

Thanks for reading, as always.



Name: Melly (Anonymous) · Date: 03/04/2012 - 12:27 am · For: Loss
Buffy's mourning over Spike is really heartbreaking. While I'm pleased that Giles had the guts to apologize to her I'm still aggravated with that handshake – he couldn’t initiate a good-bye hug? What would Spike call him? Would “wanker” be an appropriate comment from Spike in this situation? I’m loving this fic – more soon please!

Author's Response: I tried to think of it more in terms of Giles respecting her boundaries. She's not in a hugging frame of mind right now - heck, she can barely be bothered to maintain eye contact with people for more than a couple seconds. And he had betrayed her trust - it's going to take a lot of effort from both of them to rebuild that relationship.

Glad you're enjoying!



Submit a Review